I hate stacking firewood.

My gloves weren’t too thrilled with it either.
gloves-beat-up-sm
Those are were Air Farce Nomex and leather flyers gloves. Best work gloves I’ve ever had, and I’ve had them for at least 20 years, believe it or not. They’ve been resewn, patched, and sewn yet again, many times. But they finally got to the point where there wasn’t enough solid material left to stitch together. But I had six more cords of wood to stack, so I applied the usual redneck fix and duct taped (with honest-to-Bog, for real duct tape… the stuff actually designed for taping ductwork, not what you usually see in big box hardware stores) ’em. I figured that would just make it through this year’s stacking.

Similarly, my knee is about done. It’s been doing better (since the unfortunate accident last winter), with regular healing, normal use, and some DIY range of motion physical therapy. But by that last cord, it started to hurt, even with the brace I wear for work. It’s aching right now, but bearably so, and it’s a bit swollen.

Happily for gloves and knee, the firewood is stacked and cleanup completed. My landlord will make it through the winter without freezing to death.

I’ll scavenge the larger bits of leather and fabric. I can use them to do repairs on the next pair of gloves.

7 thoughts on “I hate stacking firewood.

  1. ClareB November 6, 2014 / 3:30 pm

    What great gloves to last that long, even though the need for patching. Take care of that knee.

    Like

  2. mamaliberty2014 November 8, 2014 / 8:49 am

    Have you tried some of the welding gloves? My oldest son is a welder, and he uses many of them, in various stages of disintegration, over many long years. By the time he actually discards them, they only resemble gloves superficially. LOL Oh yes, lots of good duct tape… on just about anything. He uses duct tape commonly to close wounds, even cover burns, and none of this sissy washing up his mother insists on. So far, they’ve all healed, but I won’t speak about the scars.

    Like

    • Bear November 8, 2014 / 9:52 am

      Welders gloves wouldn’t give me the dexterity I want for most work. They’re great for thermal protection and holding parts still while welding, but not so great for active manipulation. Although… I was thinking of the usual leather gauntlets. Could be there are some heavy duty Nomex welders equivalents to those old flyers gloves; I’ll have to look around.

      Like

      • mamaliberty2014 November 8, 2014 / 10:24 am

        Scott has a fair number of different gloves… obviously has tried many kinds and only some are really good for welding… but he manages to use all of them for one thing or another. I don’t know where he gets them, but I could ask.

        In the meantime, these looked good and sturdy, but not too expensive:

        http://www.amazon.com/Custom-Leathercraft-125XX-Handyman-Gloves/dp/B00495ZF7U/ref=sr_1_7?s=industrial&ie=UTF8&qid=1415459915&sr=1-7&keywords=flexible+work+gloves

        No idea how you’d get a different size if that’s not right for you. One problem with Amazon and things that come in different colors/sizes. All listed separately and not always easy to find!! But I’m always amazed that gloves don’t cost more.

        Like

        • Bear November 8, 2014 / 10:46 am

          Those look interesting. I’d want to check out a pair physically, since I’m dubious of some “synthetic leather.” But I usually have to do that anyway to get gloves that fit right: my fingers are a bit long for my hands’ width, so off the shelf gloves often fit oddly.

          Like

          • mamaliberty2014 November 8, 2014 / 11:32 am

            I hear you. LOL Almost all gloves fit me poorly or not at all. I have a wide, heavy hand, but my fingers are incredibly short in proportion. If I find gloves that fit the rest of my hand, the fingers usually extend out for yards. I can have comfortable gloves, or I can have gloves that allow me to use my fingers easily… not usually both at the same time. 🙂

            Like

  3. Bear November 8, 2014 / 12:09 pm

    My problem is exactly opposite. With my long fingers, most gloves the right width fit me like flippers with “webbing” up to the mid-knuckle. [grin]

    Like

Leave a Reply

