Email & Domain Problems

UPDATED AGAIN: The heck with it. I gave up on Better Than Yours. carl-at-bussjaeger-dot-org has been moved off the BTY server and now works again.


If you’ve tried emailing me at my usual (blank)@bussjaeger-dot-org address, I haven’t received it. Try reaching me at bear-at-bussjaeger-dot-US or bussjaeger-at-inbox-dot-com (edit: I forgot that the way my bussjaeger.us MX entry is set up involves BTY, too edit2: either one should be working now; I got bussjaeger.us off of the BTY DNS).

Basically, my dot-ORG web and email host (betterthanyours.com) appears to be down. This could be a temporary glitch, but since the folks at BTY haven’t responded to emails or snail mails (even their web contact form errors out) for most of a year, this could be the final death of the service… and my hosted domains. If that’s the case, I’ll accelerate my already-in-progress project of migrating everything off of their servers. They served me well in the past, but the lack of contact coupled with this crash doesn’t exactly give me warm fuzzy feelings.

If anyone knows a way to actually reach Kielsky, that information would be welcome, to me and others (who can’t even get Kielsky to respond to offers of payment).

Free web hosting suggestions also welcomed.

2 thoughts on “Email & Domain Problems

  1. Cat December 27, 2014 / 12:14 pm

    That’s too bad. I can sympathize — my site is still up (for the moment) but the stony silence from BTY is distressing. Recreating it from scratch seems like a lot of work, and to little purpose … a rainy day project, perhaps. Sigh.

    Hope you had a nice Christmas, Bear! >^v^<

    Like

    • Bear December 27, 2014 / 7:11 pm

      Christmas was … stressful. First time I actually did one in something like 13-14 years. (Even went to Christmas Mass.)

      On the bright side, the bear ornaments you gave me several years ago finally got hung from a tree instead of my ceiling. [grin]

      Like

Leave a Reply

