Unclear on the concept

So ISIS is building its own social media network.* Big deal. I’m only talking about that indirectly.

Faux Snooze was just talking about it (the TV is in a common area that I have to walk through). The hairspray heads were all puffed up with indignation and outrage. They showed the DNS record from “this thing called Network Solutions”.

They redacted the DNS record; IP address, nameservers, registrant…

-blink-

-sigh- Back when I was still amused by the Clinton email kerfluffle, I tried explaining to Faux (and Rep. Trey Gowdy) how that traffic was routed, and where an archive of the emails could likely be found, despite deletions (it’s a toss-up whether it would still work; depends on that company wanting to CYA by letting HRC dangle in the wind). Now I understand why nothing ever came of it: these people are such technological illiterates that they can’t even figure how to contact an IT pro. My babytalk explanation probably went over their pointy heads. I expect I lost them at “IP” (no doubt some staffer is busily trying to figure out whatinhell “intellectual property” has to do with it).

Ah, well. Judging by that ISIS page, the anti-knowledge, medieval morons there are about as ill-informed as Faux. And just as willing to publicly display their idiocy. That site displays an English-language picture linked to an Arab version, and a link to a dead Twitter account.


* Oh noes! I just linked to a terrorist site. I’m doomed! The TSA will take away my sneakers and underwear.

Leave a Reply

