So we had a “power outage”

… of the sort where the lights go out for a couple of seconds.

I compare that to the wonderful world of Public Services of New Hampshire, where the usual response is, “Damn, been nearly four days since the last multi-hour power outage during perfect, clear weather.. ’bout time the lights went out for days.”

Here, in the twentiethtwenty-first (Oops; see Anonymous’ comment below at April 14, 2015 / 11:57 am) century where people expect electricity to… you know: actually work… the reaction to a momentary blink was, “Everyone gather and wonder what the hell just happened!” Panic!

5 thoughts on “So we had a “power outage”

  1. MamaLiberty April 5, 2015 / 4:14 pm

    When I first moved out to the desert between Barstow and Big Bear in So. Calif. if it rained or the wind blew hard, there was a good chance the electric AND the phone would go out, from several hours to days. Everyone who had a brain prepared accordingly. Over the more than 30 years I lived out there, both electric and telephone got better, more reliable, and – of course – more expensive. The last five years or so, I don’t even remember any down time.

    Moving to wild and woolly Wyoming, I expected things to be difficult in many ways, so was pleasantly surprised to find that the elect and phone service are both reliable and far less expensive overall. I think we have had one four hour power outage, early in the ten years I’ve been here, and only a few momentary blips. Oh, except for the whole day the entire town and surrounding areas were out because some total moron shot a main line electric wire down…

    The electric company and the refinery were not amused. And neither was anyone else. Unfortunately, he got away clean.

    Like

  2. Anonymous April 14, 2015 / 11:57 am

    It is still kinda 20th century where you live, isn’t it?

    Like

    • Bear April 14, 2015 / 1:32 pm

      I’ll double check for temporal anomalies; but I’m pretty sure it’s 2015 here.

      Like

    • Bear April 16, 2015 / 11:24 pm

      Late note: Sunnuvabeeatch. I finally reread my OP and realize I did write “twentieth”. My bad.

      Like

      • ClareB April 17, 2015 / 8:56 pm

        Ha-ha, and I did not mean to be anonymous. You know me well.

        Like

Leave a Reply

