It’s just as well that I was a lousy SF writer

Because I wouldn’t have put up with this shit.

I’ve never really done “fandom,” so I’m outside of all that. But if I’d been a decent writer, I would have been Sad Puppies Slate material. Readers used to tell me, “You shouldn’t have sent a manuscript to [insert publisher]; they hate anything libertarian.” And occasionally, I got some frothing negative feedback about how evil I am for writing “anti-government” stories (a couple of lefties went apeshit over the revolution/balkanization of the US and the destruction of the White House in Net Assets — although some walked it back a little when they realized on which Republican resident of said government mansion the NA prez was modelled; it’s apparently OK to kill Republicans, but not Dems).

I was even advised to never mention in a submission letter that I was a Prometheus nominee, since that was allegedly the kiss of death from any publisher other than Baen (who will publish libertarian-leaning material, but clearly prefers con and neocon).

But my writing wasn’t good enough to get me in the door, so it’s moot.

And just as well.

5 thoughts on “It’s just as well that I was a lousy SF writer

  1. Bruce S Edwards April 13, 2015 / 12:00 pm

    Sorry to disagree, but I think you are a pretty good writer, I keep hoping you will do more.

    Like

    • Bear April 13, 2015 / 11:38 pm

      Well, one of my sisters thinks I will. But doing dust jacket designs for other writers pays better.

      Like

  2. Victor Krueger April 17, 2015 / 6:54 pm

    I liked your work. Nowdays independent ebook publishing through amazon works. No lefty gatekeeper wanting nothing but its ideal keymaster. No Zuul.

    I liked your work and would like to see more.

    Like

    • Bear April 17, 2015 / 8:59 pm

      Thanks. I did publish through Amazon; ebook and dead tree. Don’t know what the bootlegger made from my books, but by the time I listed them myself, sales … didn’t exactly go sky high.

      Anyway, jacket design pays better, and I get to read early drafts from better writers. (FYI: Vin Suprynowicz’ next novel is going to be great.)

      Like

  3. Tom Bri April 24, 2015 / 6:09 pm

    Well, I paid $ for your books. And probably would again. By the way, what’s the going rate for a jacket design? The last guy I used did a great job, but is hard to get ahold of.

    Like

Leave a Reply

