Your Tax Dollars at Work: DOE Discovers Surface Tension

Why do puddles stop spreading?
Simple everyday phenomenon was unexplained by physics — until now
[…]
It turns out that the problem is one of scale, he says: It’s only at the molecular level that the forces responsible for stopping the flow begin to show up. And even though these forces are minuscule, their effect changes how the liquid behaves in a way that is obvious at a much larger scale.

Heck, this has only been known/measured/mathematically-defined for more than three centuries. I guess it’s about time government science caught up caught on.

Dear Bog, these guys were still using a “perfect fluid” model to depict a decidedly imperfect fluid. I bet they moonlight building climate models, too.

6 thoughts on “Your Tax Dollars at Work: DOE Discovers Surface Tension

  1. ClareB July 8, 2015 / 3:02 pm

    My son –the young physicist, yeah, that one– said to me before he was even out of diapers, “Did you know I can walk on water?” (Yeah, kid, you weren’t the first one known for doing that.) So I’m not too impressed by the wikipedia Surface Tension link showing water supporting a measly paper clip. 😉

    Like

    • Bear July 8, 2015 / 3:16 pm

      “My son –the young physicist, yeah, that one”

      Wait.. What?

      There’s another one?

      Like

      • ClareB July 8, 2015 / 7:53 pm

        No, I just don’t get too many opportunities to say “my son, the physicist,” so I wanted to emphasize it. Should have just used italics.

        Like

  2. MamaLiberty July 10, 2015 / 10:24 am

    Actually, any admission of TRUTH in any form is encouraging. Someday, in the far future, and assuming the whole control freak culture isn’t wiped out somehow, a government “scientist” may actually admit that “garbage in = garbage out” is truth as well.

    Nobody minds if I don’t hold my breath…

    Congratulations on the physicist in the family, CLAREB. 🙂

    Like

  3. MamaLiberty July 10, 2015 / 10:39 am

    Sorry, I wasn’t clear there…. I mean that nobody HERE would mind. LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

