The Origin of the Christmas Tree Angel

Few folks realize just why so many of us stick an angel on the peak of our Christmas trees. It’s actually a very old custom started by ol’ Saint Nick himself…

xmas-tree-angel

Santa Claus was having a really bad day. It was already Christmas Eve, and nothing was going right. Mrs. Claus still hadn’t fixed the rip in his favorite red coat. The elves had just gone on strike for better working conditions and stock options. The reindeer had gotten drunk, taken the sleigh out for a spin, and crumpled the runners in a fenderbender. And the angel still wasn’t back from the forest with a Christmas tree. “The heck with milk and cookies,” Santa thought to himself. “The little kiddies better be leaving bottles of scotch.” He turned to his wife. “Honey, would you please hurry up with my coat…”

Suddenly the front door crashed open. An exhausted, bedraggled, and half frozen cherub stormed in dragging an evergreen. “Yo, fat man!” he called out. “Where the hell do you want me to stick this tree?”

Apparently I’m not allowed to tell this story to my young niece and nephew for some reason.

3 thoughts on “The Origin of the Christmas Tree Angel

  1. wdg3rd December 10, 2015 / 2:31 am

    Known that story forever and still enjoy it.

    Scroll down into the comics of this comic for a comment, response, comment from me. I have enjoyed this welcoming for several years. The author/artist is also ex-USAF.

    http://tmi-comic.com/comic/happy-holidays-2011/

    Like

  2. Bear December 10, 2015 / 11:13 am

    Interesting. So far as I knew, that was original when I wrote it twenty-some years ago and posted it the SF&F forum on Compuserve. But a quick web search shows a lot of variants. Well, it’s an obvious gag, so I’m sure it occurred to many people. A few are so similar to my phrasing that I suspect I’m the source of those.

    Like

    • wdg3rd December 10, 2015 / 2:44 pm

      I may have first seen it from you. I spent a fair amount reading that CompuSlave forum back in the day, plus you might have sent it on the LRT mailing list. My memory these days makes forever a variable.

      Like

Leave a Reply

