Windows 10: BDSM Edition

Cory Doctorow has several more reasons not to allow that spying POS anywhere near your machines.

Windows 10 covertly sends your disk-encryption keys to Microsoft
There’s no way to turn off the “recovery” feature that sends your disk encryption keys to Microsoft by default, without notice…
[…]
Windows 10 has many unprecedented anti-user features: a remote killswitch that lets it disable your hardware; keylogging and browser-history logging that, by default, sends it all to Microsoft, and a deceptive “privacy mode” that continues to exfiltrate your data, even when you turn it on.

I’m sure the FBI and NSA appreciate MacroSnoop’s cooperation, but as I’ve noted before, this shit could get you sent to prison; along with lawsuits, employment termination and so forth. It’s almost as if MS set out to intentionally design a permanent HIPAA violation.

And never forget: MS is still trying to retrofit Win7/8 with at least some of that spyware.

Tell you what: Send me a blank DVD or thumb drive and a SASE, and I’ll pre-install Linux Mint as a bootable live version. Stick it in your computer, restart, and with a couple of clicks it will pretty much automatically install Mint for you. You’ll no longer have to worry about MacroSnoop.

But really: Mint is pretty darned easy to install, even without my assistance, and that’s faster than waiting on snailmail. Go for it.

2 thoughts on “Windows 10: BDSM Edition

  1. Eric Wilner December 30, 2015 / 3:53 pm

    I’m not entirely sure about Mint, nor any other Ubuntu derivative; there seems to be some issue with the Ubuntu repositories moving around or vanishing, and older installations becoming problematic to upgrade. (A friend had an old Ubuntu installation get into that state, and I just discovered that my old Mint VM has upgrades broken – but at least mine doesn’t have anything important on it, so I can just re-install with the latest version.) I’ve never had this happen with old-fuddy-duddy Debian. But, then, these are old installations; maybe Ubuntu’s organizational stability has improved in the last few years?
    I’d noticed a couple of days ago that the current Mint doesn’t seem to have a KDE variant, but I guess Cinnamon is a decent UI – just not what I’m used to. (And I suppose KDE can be installed later.)
    Still pondering whether I should dist-upgrade the Debian on my workstation, or switch to a more in-step-with-the-times distro. Either way appears disruptive….

    Like

  2. wdg3rd December 30, 2015 / 5:31 pm

    Preaching to the choir. Due to a disk crash, I just did a fresh 1TB disk with six bootable Linux distros plus swap and /home. Mint, Ubuntu, Elementary, PCLinxOS, OpenSuse and Centos. The only one that took any actual effort was Centos, and that was easier than a setup of a pre-installed Windoze 7. The most time consuming part was downloading the iso images and burning the DVDs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

