When they hijack my IoT Coffee Maker, I’m declaring war*

Malware on the Smart TV?
My sister got a virus on her TV. A VIRUS ON HER GODDAMN TV.
It was an LG Smart TV with a built in web browser, and she managed to get a DNS Hijacker that would say “Your computer is infected please send us money to fix it” any time she tried to do anything on the TV.iff

If it surfs the Internet, it’s a computer. If it’s a computer, it’s potentially vulnerable to hacking and malware.

Fuck with my coffee and you could get hurt. Anonymous, you have been warned.


* No, I don’t have an IoT coffee maker, nor IoT anything else, except the protected computers I actually use for Internet communications. No one has shown me a good reason for that to change.

2 thoughts on “When they hijack my IoT Coffee Maker, I’m declaring war*

  1. MamaLiberty January 11, 2016 / 1:45 pm

    Really! I have not had any kind of TV for about 30 years now, and don’t intend to get one. I also see absolutely no point to having any sort of discussion with my refrigerator or any other appliance… except for cussing them when they don’t perform, of course. Don’t need internet connection for that. But the very idea that anyone but me could or would even TOUCH my coffee maker… well, the response would be overwhelming, I assure you. They’d leave a grease spot at best. 🙂

    Like

    • Bear January 11, 2016 / 2:31 pm

      Scorch mark. Grease burns. [grin]

      Like

Leave a Reply

