Losing a Hero

David Codrea went to visit Mike Vanderboegh.

Vanderboegh Shows Strength and Dignity Preparing for ‘Other Side’
I drove down from my home in Ohio to see Mike Vanderboegh this weekend at his home in Alabama. I was able to spend some time with him on Friday night and again on Saturday morning. His appearance is about what you’d expect for a man who told us a week ago the doctors have given him four weeks to live – there’s no need to dwell on that here. After years of friendship, it was important for me to see him face-to-face, and to show him how much I valued the blessing of knowing him.

Read the whole thing.

Mike’s son, Matt, is stepping up to pick up the guidon and fill his father’s shoes. From what I’ve seen, he’ll do his father proud. I just wish it wasn’t necessary.

Leave a Reply

