UPDATE: Is there any other industry in which deliberately selling more product than you have

isn’t fraud?

Just Plane Wrong: Uproar Erupts After Passenger Is Knocked Out and Dragged Off United Flight
In the video taken Sunday night, the bloodied passenger, who had apparently been knocked unconscious apparently after his head hit an armrest, is dragged down the aisle.

The passenger was removed just before takeoff from a United flight from Chicago to Louisville to make room for an airline employee.

Video here.

If this is accurate (doctor, bumping people for employees, unconsciousness, blood, etc.), United is absolutely fucked. Not just the apparent doctor suing them back into bankruptcy.

Everyone else on that plane. Not just the trauma of witnessing that fiasco. Not just the airline-stupity-induced flight delay. Not to mention missed connections.

The exposure to potential bloodborne pathogens.

Across the country, ambulance chasers are lining up to take every passenger’s case on a contigency basis, knowing they’ve already won the lottery.

UPDATE: Oh, this just keeps getting better and better insanely worse for United.

  • Reading more reports, it seems the guy was a 69 year old doctor. Which means he probably has plenty of money for the best team of attorneys.
  • Normally, law enforcement will send an injured suspect or victim to the hospital to be checked and treated as necessary. They didn’t. Sounds like they dumped him in the terminal, because other passengers say he returned to reboard the plane with everyone else — “dazed, bloodied, kind of in a mess” (concussion from being knocked will do that, you know).
  • This incident was at 6PM. The flight United oh-so-generously offered to those bumped was at 3PM the next day. No wonder doc didn’t want to wait.

United could have chartered a frickin’ airplane for their four employees for one hell of lot less than this is going to cost them. And that doesn’t count the lost revenue when people refuse to fly United.*


* Remember that dirty joke?

5 thoughts on “UPDATE: Is there any other industry in which deliberately selling more product than you have

  1. Ruth April 11, 2017 / 9:51 am

    If he wasn’t able to see patients that had been scheduled due to United’s little incident then his patients ought to sue too.

    What is the percentage of empty seats, on average, that the plane would have to fly with if they didn’t over book? I find it hard to believe that the plane would be SO empty that it would cause serious financial burden.

    Like

  2. chad April 12, 2017 / 6:26 am

    Is it ironic that what comes to mind when you ask “Is there any other industry in which deliberately selling more product than you have…isn’t fraud?” is the medical industry with drs and clinics regularly overbooking?

    Not to justify at all what happened on the plane.
    Just a stray thought.

    Like

    • Bear April 12, 2017 / 8:24 am

      My recent — indirect — experience has been that it takes forever to get an appointment with the doctor, but that one doesn’t pay in advance, sit down in the examination room, and have a nurse walk in and order me out because someone else has booked that same time slot. And certainly not because the room wasn’t overbooked, but some other nurse decided he wanted a freebie check up.

      Like

      • chad April 13, 2017 / 9:44 am

        Oh I agree that there is no comparison of the severity of the two examples.
        What brought to mind my response to your title question is my own experience:
        I take my daughter to weekly Dr appointments(she has a severe movement disorder). She pays in advance. We wait in a crowded lobby. She usually gets in 30-90 minutes after her appointment time. This causes her physical distress. More than once, after waiting for close to an hour, someone will come out and say her provider isn’t in that day and would she like to see someone else. She usually doesn’t and we leave. A month or two later she gets a refund.
        We put up with it because they do provide her with good care, and there are limited choices where we live.

        So, a somewhat long-winded attempt to explain my original, not really proportionate, off-hand comment.
        It wasn’t my intent to devalue the airplane incident.

        Like

  3. wdg3rd April 20, 2017 / 5:23 am

    I can tell stories about airplane trips and medical stuff, both positive and negative. I’m half buzzed (about as far as I can get with 8%beer, my liver came from Krypton) So I’ll stick to the positive. In 1974 I got permission to take a long weekend go from USAF avionics tech school to DeepSouthCon (I was several weeks ahead of my peers). Greyhound from Chanute to Chicago ran late and it took forever to get a cab to O’Hare. Got there, ran the length of the terminal and did an Indiana Jones (not to be invented until some years later) as the door to the ramp was closing. Stewardess noticed my ticket wsas military discount and moved me from coach to first class, so I gor to Atlanta fairly buzzed (the Kryptonian transplant hadn’t arrived yet) without resorting to the contents of m. Weekend bag). Yeah, I was 19. It was legal for anybody of voting age to drink in Illinois and Georgia back then. Flying back didn’t get the special treatment, but after three days drinking with Southern fen I needed to relax. Forget which airline, definitely not Delta or United, maybe Eastern.

    Doctor stories. I’ve some as would chill the blood, from the deaths of Lisa’s parents to Lisa’s death, to the my loss of a toe early last year (frostbite, not diabetes, froze in New Jersey, not New Hampshire)). Nephew Joseph dragged me over to Dartmouth-Hittchcock in Lebanon last month, concerned with my feet, edema (nothing new) and neuropathy from ankles down probably due to the frostbite. A few hours hanging around both in the lobby and the checkout room, a pint or so my blood bled out into little vials, a chest x-ray set that will show a small amount of emphysema from my childhood in Los Angeles, nothing from forty odd years of a pack a day. Told me to get an EKG at their Concord facility. Done that. Thing is, everybody was nice. Not something I saw during the decades of dealing with medical (alleged) professionals in California and New Jersey. In New. Hampshire, folks say hello and mean it. I tip my my hat to ladies and touch the brim to gentlemen. (Carl, you know the hat I’m talking about).

    The one problem was that the folks at DHMC kept asking me who was my primary care doctor. I finally caved and gave the name of the only GP I know in the state. A lady who was my teammate for the NH math competition when she was a junior and I was a senior at Laconia (NH) HS. . We won, got our picture in the local paper, too late for the yearbook.
    Yes, I was in love with her back then, I was in love with anybody with two X-chromosomes and a pulse back when I was 17
    Birgit and my late Lisa spent many hours together during the Millennium Philcon (WorldCon 2001). Lisa always liked learning details about me from the years I wouldn’t talk about. No clue what was discussed, no chance i will ever get details. No chance I will try to to seduce her, too much respect for her husband and the parents of her grandkids. Though I may try to hook Joe’s kids up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

